Haiti

My Haitian meal was absolutely delicious! I made a pork dish called Griots which is traditionally served at family events and parties. I took some pork shoulder and diced it, before marinading it over-night in sliced onion, sliced peppers, chilli, garlic, thyme, orange juice and lime juice. The next day I baked it in the oven for around 2 hours at a low temperature before draining it and frying. The marinade was kept and reduced to form a thick sticky sauce.

FullSizeRender (1)FullSizeRenderI served the pork with a kind of acidic salad called pikliz. According to the website I used for research, every Haitian home has a jar of pikliz to hand. I sliced up carrot, cabbage and onion and left it to soak in white vinegar over night, along with garlic, chilli and peppercorns.

I have to say, I wasn’t massively looking forward to this meal but it was delicious! Definitely something I’ll be making again. It’s a good freezer dish too.

