Ghana

When I saw another West African country I was fully prepared for more ‘chicken in peanut sauce’ until I realised Jollof rice was a common dish and I hadn’t yet made it. I suppose Jollof is the African version of a jambalaya, risotto or paella. I browned off some chicken thigh and then added onion, garlic, a can of chopped tomatoes and a squeeze of puree, along with stock. After simmering for half an hour I then added some shrimp paste, a green chilli and some rice. The rice slowly absorbed the liquids over the next 20 minutes and cooked beautifully.

IMG_2057.JPG

I am in love with Tatales…! They are a common way of using up over-ripe plantain in Ghana. Unfortunately I was all out of over-ripe plantains so had to make do with green bananas but they were delicious nonetheless. I blended the bananas, mixed in 2 tbsp self raising flour, 1 beaten egg, 1 diced onion and 1 green chilli and a pinch of salt. I was supposed to leave the batter to rest for 20 minutes but I forgot. You then dollop a spoonful of the mixture into a hot pan and flip after a few minutes. They were really delicious and I’d definitely make them again.

Overall this was a delicious meal and one I’d add to the ‘make again’ list.

… we have also been nibbling at a bar of dark chocolate made from Ghanaian beans all week, just for research purposes…

img_2012

