Democratic People’s Republic of Korea

A-C countries finished, time to start on the D-countries, of which there are only 6: Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Denmark, Djibouti, Dominica and Dominican Republic.

I don’t think I’ll be eating a typical meal from Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, or North Korea, as I want something a little more exciting than boiled rice. North Korean people typically have very little money to spend on food, mainly existing on carbohydrates; protein is a real luxury.

I love Asian food as a rule, but don’t know a lot about Korean food. Having trawled the internet there seem to be a lot of cold dishes, and ones reliant on pickled flavours. I’ve chosen two dishes and served them with sticky rice for our dinner tonight.

Firstly I chose a dish called Bulgogi which means ‘fire meat’ in Korean. I sliced up some rump steak and marinated it in soy, brown sugar, rice wine, puréed onion, garlic and ginger. We then stir fried it with onion, spring onion, green pepper and carrot.

I also made some Korean dumplings called Mandu using a mixture of beef and pork, garlic, spring onion, chives, sesame oil, mushroom and fish sauce. I used shop bought gyoza skins as the wrappers.

dump 1

A very tasty main course!

The husband fancied a sweet treat so made himself some Hottoek (Korean sweet pancakes) using a recipe he found online. They were gorgeous! 

   

 

