Croatia

I visited Croatia about ten years ago with a friend and have great memories of sitting in harbour-front bars eating ćevapčići and drinking red wine….

So tonight, recreating those tasty little sausages was a must. They’re so easy to make; I used a 50:50 mix of minced beef and minced pork, flavoured with onion, garlic, cayenne and sweet paprika. Mix the whole lot together, shape and chill before grilling.  They taste great grilled or on the BBQ.

To accompany the little sausages I made some more Ajvar which I’m pretty sure I made when I covered Bulgaria. I roasted off three red peppers, skinned them then blitzed them with garlic (my breath HONKS now!), chives, oil, lemon juice, red wine vinegar salt and sugar. One of the most delicious dips I’ve ever had. A little cottage cheese added a creamy contrast to the heat from the garlic.

IMG_5705

I also thought I’d try making Burek – layers of filo pastry with feta, cream cheese, smoked ham and egg in between. Pretty tasty and very easy to make.

Croatian food heritage has borrowed from it’s neighbour, Italy. This includes pasta, icecream and polenta. I found a recipe for some deep fried polenta balls traditional to the Balkans. I stuffed the cooked polenta with salami and smoked cheese then deep fried the for a few minutes. They tasted good – kind of like croquettes.

All in all a pretty tasty meal…

