Colombia

Colombia is a country with a wide variety of culinary influences and features cereals, tubers, legumes and a range of meats and tropical fruits. Corn, plantain, stews and beans featured heavily in my research and it has been more difficult to find a dish that I thought we’d really enjoy.

As I’ve done before, sometimes it’s more interesting to opt for breakfast rather than a main meal and this was the case for me and Colombian food.

For our Colombian meal I decided to make Huevos Pericos which are basically scrambled egg with spring onion and tomato. The eggs are a common breakfast dish and often served with corn flat breads called Arepas. Arepas are commonly served in Colombia and can be stuffed with a variety of fillings. I followed a recipe from the Epicurious website. I’m not convinced I used the right flour for the arepas – will need some feedback from a real life colombian! The eggs were delicious and definitely one we’ll make again.

colombia 1 colombia 2 colombia 3 colombia 4

