Bosnia and Herzegovina

Bosnia is another country I’ve visited, albeit only technically. About ten years ago I traveled around the Adriatic with my good friend, Jane, on a trip that was dominated by Italy and Croatia. We drove through Bosnia en route from Dubrovnik to Split and didn’t see a great deal of difference between the two countries. Unfortunately we didn’t stop for a meal break.  Interestingly, when researching Bosnian cuisine I realised I had actually eaten the dish I’m making tonight in Croatia, many many times!

The national dish of Bosnia is considered to be ćevapčići (also known as ćevapi) which are sausage-shaped meat balls made from minced meat. The ćevapčići are served with a flatbread called lepinje, chopped onions, sour cream and a dip called ajvar. In their fast food format (and as I remember them from my travels) they are served with fries.

Image

I made the ćevapčići using 1lb of lamb mince and 1lb of beef mince mixed with a tablespoon of sweet paprika, half an onion (fried  off) and a few cloves of garlic (fried with the onions). The mixture was formed into rough sausage shapes and left to chill in the fridge. We grilled them off on the Kamado Joe as it was already on to do the bread and the red peppers, and they were left with a fantastic charcoal grilled flavour.

ImageThe ajvar was a great find and something I’ll make again. It’s a ‘dip’ type sauce made from roasted red peppers and garlic. It sometimes contains aubergine but I stuck to peppers. We roasted the red peppers off using the Kamado Joe in the garden which gave them a stunning smokey taste. They were then peeled and blended with a few cloves of raw garlic and a splash of white wine vinegar. The raw garlic gives the dish a hot taste. It was absolutely beautiful – I could have eaten much more than we made.

Image

The lepinje bread is not disimillar to pitta bread – it uses yeast but then is rolled out flat. It is baked at a high temperature to form a hollow shape like a pitta.

ImageAll in all this was a fantastic meal. Having the BBQ on all afternoon made a cold March day feel like the middle of summer. The food was delicious and definitely something I’d make again. Luckily we have a lot of leftovers, so that quantity of meat could serve four easily.

Image

